The Seven Chakras and Your Overall Wellbeing


If you are reading this article, there is a good chance that at some point in your life that you have attended some type of meditation or yoga class or you have given yourself a chance to have a Reiki session.

Chances are that your instructor, or your guide has told you about your chakras and how important they are.  Maybe your instructor talked about the Third Eye or the Heart charka and about the light that is in you which shines through these chakras.  But what do you really know about your chakras?

Chakra is a word that means wheel in the Sanskrit language and to really describe it, it is the center of all the feelings, emotions and health of the human body.  There are seven different chakras that go through the body, down the spine, around the head and even down the neck.

If you think that the chakras are just a new thing, that is not true because the chakras originated around 1500 BC and started in India.  It was called Vedas at one point.  The Vedas are the earliest written records of Hinduism, and they talk about how important the chakras are.

Each chakra lines up with a certain organ and is part of your emotional, physical, psychological, and spiritual well-being.  The chakras influence what is going on in your life.  The chakras hold the key to healing and to having pure energy that will keep each person healthy and strong.

Most Western scientists don’t study the energy and manifestations of the seven chakras, but it is through yoga, meditation, or Reiki that your chakras can open and balanced.  The energy in our body is always moving and the prana allows the energy to flow in each chakra.

First Chakra

The first chakra or the root chakra and is the stabilizing chakra.  Everything that is connected to this chakra is about the foundation of the body.  This is found in the spine and close to the floor of the pelvic area.  It runs through the first three vertebrae and is fueled with survival and security.

Whenever you ground yourself and want to balance this chakra, make sure that you are doing what you can to keep your body healthy and safe.  You have to eat right, drink a lot of water, and make sure you are safe and have a nice home to live in.  You also have to open up your emotions and worry less about things and let go of anger and fear.

Blocked First Chakra

When the first chakra is blocked, it will bring fear, back pain, feet issues, nightmares, anxiety, and stress.

Second Chakra

The second chakra or the sacral chakra is found close to the pubic bone and by the belly button.  This is the chakra that is aligned with the element of water and the color orange.  When this is balanced, you will feel sexual, passionate, happy, well and even creative.

Blocked Second Chakra

When the second chakra is blocked, you will feel that you lack creativity and that you are instable in your emotions.  You might not feel like having sexual pleasure and you might be depressed or feel addicted to things that you normally don’t want to do.

Third Chakra

The third chakra or the solar plexus chakra is found in the belly button and to the ribs.  This is not the Third Eye, but it is the chakra that helps with digestion and stomach related issues. When the third chakra is balanced, you will feel good, healthy, and strong.

Blocked Third Chakra

When the solar plexus chakra is blocked, you will have low self-esteem and you might be angrier than normal. You will feel bad about who you are, and you will not get your work done.  This is a time that other people can take advantage of you.  You also might experience trouble going to the bathroom or extreme gas.

Fourth Chakra

The fourth chakra or the heart chakra is the center chakra, and it is located in the chest.  This is part of the thymus gland which will help with your endocrine and lymphatic system and with the breasts and lungs.  The heart chakra is where love comes from, compassion, forgiveness, and empathy.

Blocked Fourth Chakra

When the fourth chakra is blocked it means you have a closed heart chakra.  This is a time where you will feel jealous, anger, betrayal, hate, hurt, pain, a broken heart and grief.  This can close when you are holding a grudge or holding on to past negative feelings.

Fifth Chakra

The fifth chakra or the throat chakra is found in your throat and with the mouth, tongue, thyroid, neck, jaw, and larynx.  This is the chakra that helps you to be honest and helps you to communicate with people.  When this chakra is open, it can help you to talk clearly to others and allows you to open yourself up.

Blocked Fifth Chakra

When your throat chakra is blocked, you might lie and not speak the truth.  You will be afraid of being judged and you might experience physical pain such as a sore throat or a headache.

Sixth Chakra

The sixth chakra or the Third Eye is found between the eyebrows and includes the brain, eyes, head, and pituitary glands.  This is the part of your chakra that runs your whole body and gives you the chance to see what is happening on the outside world.  This is where you can learn to focus on what is going on in the world around you.

Blocked Sixth Chakra

When your Third Eye is blocked, it can cause you to not be able to hear when your spiritual voice is blocked.  You may find that you have trouble understanding facts or picking up new things to learn.  You may find that you have no trust and that you are not listening to your intuition.

Since this is the Third Eye, it can cause you to be judgmental and no longer outgoing.  You may find yourself going into a depressed state and find that you are stressed and have a hard time breathing.  If you experience dizziness or headaches, chances are you are blocked in your Third Eye.

Seventh Chakra

The seventh chakra or the Crown chakra is located in your head, at the crown.  This chakra helps to bring you a spiritual connection with others and allows you to focus on divinity and your psychic gifts.  This is part of your body that lets you be aware of the spiritual world around you and the universe.

Blocked Seventh Chakra

When your Crown chakra is blocked, you will feel upset and emotional.  You won’t want to be around anyone, and you will feel that your life is not normal.  You may miss hearing from spirits, and you might not be able to meditate or feel like listening to the universe.

Unblocking Your Chakra

If you feel that your chakras are blocked in any way, take time to meditate and be thankful for what you have.  All of these things can increase your vibrations and help to unblock your chakras, keeping you healthy and strong.